

Elections and Re-elections

August 2011/JPR

Introduction

The CHIPP Executive Board is composed of up to four individuals: the Chair and one to three Vice-Chairs (Statutes Article 28.2). Their term of office is two years and renewable (Statutes Article 28.3). The Members of the CHIPP EB are elected by the Board (Article 27, litt. e of the Statutes).

Proposals

Two of the present EB members do not stand for re-election: Tatsuya Nakada because of his new appointment in the European Strategy Group and Martin Pohl, because he finishes his mandate as Chairman.

Both Laura Baudis and Klaus Kirch have fortunately agreed to stand for re-election.

For the two open positions as EB members, nominations for 4 names have been received from Board Members. Out of these four Olivier Schneider and Gilberto Colangelo are available for election.

Regarding the Chair, it is tradition that the new chair comes from among the present EB members, for obvious reasons.

The EB has asked Klaus Kirch to stand for election as the CHIPP Chairman, which he kindly agreed to do.

The Board (applying Article 27, litt. e of the Statutes) is requested to:

- Re-elect Laura Baudis and Klaus Kirch for a second term as Members of the Executive Board for the period 1 January 2012 31 December 2013;
- Elect Olivier Schneider and Gilberto Colangelo for a first term as Members of the Executive Board for the period 1 January 2012 – 31 December 2013;
- Elect Klaus Kirch as Chairman of CHIPP for the period 1 January 2012 31 December 2013.

Required majority: simple