



December 2011/JPR

## Introduction

The revised procedure for attributing the annual CHIPP Prize foresees to set up a dedicated Selection Committee to assess the applications and select the prize winner (see preceding topic under this agenda item). The Selection Committee will be a visible and identifiable body, which is able to take its responsibility in a very professional manner.

The setting up of subcommittees for specific tasks is regulated in the CHIPP Statutes and falls under the responsibility of the Board.

## Proposal

Within the CHIPP Executive Board, Gilberto Colangelo has agreed to take over from Klaus Kirch the overall responsibility for attributing the prize and serving in this function as Chairman of the Selection Committee.

Striving to set up a committee representing the different regions of Switzerland, the Cantonal Universities as well as the ETH domain, and a broad expertise in scientific competence, Gilberto Colangelo has contacted a number of CHIPP Board Members and CHIPP Honorary Board Members. He has identified three colleagues fulfilling as a group the criteria about representing several circles of the Swiss research landscape; all of them have agreed to serve in this Committee.

The proposed composition of the Selection Committee is as follows:

- Gilberto Colangelo, Berne (Chair)
- Aurelio Bay, EPFL
- Maurice Bourquin, Geneva
- Peter Truöl, Zurich

**The Board** (applying Article 27, litt. I) is requested to approve the composition of the Selection Committee as set out above.

Required majority: simple