

ApPEC General Assembly: re-election of a Swiss scientific delegate

October 2014/MT

Introduction

The Board on its meeting 2012-03 has approved the Swiss membership in the Astroparticle Physics European Consortium (ApPEC). It also entrusted the Chair to designate the organisation that should join as well as the Swiss representative. As a result, the SNSF submitted an accession document to ApPEC on 14 January 2013, which was countersigned on 24 January 2013 by the ApPEC Secretary General. The document states that the SNSF will send a representative to the ApPEC General Assembly (GA) – until now Paul Burkhard, and Tristan Maillard in the future – to be accompanied by a scientist from the Astroparticle Physics (ApP) area. The latter was designated to be Teresa Montaruli as CHIPP Vice-Chair and expert in ApP. Her re-election at the Executive Board in June 2014 (Board 2014-02) for 2015–2016 could tacitly mean that she will also continue to be the second Swiss scientific delegate to ApPEC. The present re-election was nevertheless found pertinent, because the two functions are not necessarily linked and also to stay in conformity with article 27, litt. e of the CHIPP Statutes, which designates the CHIPP Board to elect and revoke "[...] the officers of the Association [...] representing the Association in national and international bodies."

Proposal

Teresa Montaruli has indicated her willingness to serve for another term of two years in continuation of her role in ApPEC from 2013 to 2014.

The Board (in conformity with Article 27, litt. e) is requested

- **to re-elect Teresa Montaruli** as Swiss scientific delegate to the ApPEC General Assembly for a 2nd term from January 2015 to December 2016.

Required majority: simple