

CHIPP representation in LA FLARE: Election of representatives

October 2014/MT

Introduction

According to the 'rules' as spelled out in the call 2014 for FLARE (Funding LArge international REsearch projects), the Lenkungsausschuss (LA) FLARE is composed of one representative each of the SNSF Research Council and of the SERI (State Secretariat for Education, Research, and Innovation), as well as one expert mandated by each of the scientific communities concerned by FLARE, i.e. particle physics (PP), astroparticle physics (ApP), and astronomy. At its first meeting in December 2012, the LA FLARE followed a suggestion of CHIPP and agreed to extend the LA FLARE membership to the Swiss scientific delegates in the largest or most important organisation in the three fields of research.

The present CHIPP representatives in LA FLARE are:

- Rainer Wallny as the PP member with voting right, until end 2015 (to be formalised)
- Olivier Schneider as the PP observer as CERN Council delegate, until end 2015
- Martin Pohl as the ApP member with voting right, until end 2014
- Teresa Montaruli as the ApP observer as ApPEC scientific delegate, until end 2014

From the four CHIPP representatives, only Martin Pohl has been formally elected at the Board 2013-01. Olivier Schneider and Teresa Montaruli have their observer status from their role as Swiss delegates in the CERN Council and the ApPEC General Assembly, respectively. Finally, Rainer Wallny was selected in spring 2014 by the CHIPP EB to represent the CHIPP Chair as the PP member with voting right, since Olivier Schneider cannot cumulate the two roles. The latter decision was presented at the Board 2014-02 in June, but without a formal election. The present elections shall clarify the mandates given to the LA FLARE representatives in conformity with Article 27, litt. e of the CHIPP Statutes, which designates the CHIPP Board to elect and revoke "[...] the officers of the Association [...] representing the Association in national and international bodies."

Proposal

Rainer Wallny, as Vice-Chair of CHIPP, is ready to serve for 2014–2015 in the position of the PP representative in LA FLARE with voting right. Martin Pohl and Teresa Montaruli have both indicated their willingness to serve for another term of two years in continuation of their role in 2013–2014.

The Board (in conformity with Article 27, litt. e) is requested

- to elect Rainer Wallny as the particle physics LA FLARE member with voting right until December 2015
- to re-elect Martin Pohl as the astroparticle physics LA FLARE member with voting right for a 2nd term from January 2015 to December 2016
- to re-elect Teresa Montaruli as the astroparticle physics LA FLARE observer for a 2nd term from January 2015 to December 2016

Required majority: simple