

CHIPP Prize 2017 announcement

2017 CHIPP Prize for the best PhD student in experimental or theoretical particle physics

Also in 2017, the Swiss Institute of Particle Physics (CHIPP) offers a prize for the best PhD student in experimental or theoretical particle physics. All PhD students affiliated to CHIPP are kindly invited to submit their application in time for being considered in this year's selection procedure.

As last year – according to a CHIPP Board decision taken on 26 February 2016 – the prize is no more restricted to candidates who did not yet complete their PhD thesis, but also candidates who already defended their PhD thesis in the 12 months prior to the application deadline are invited to apply. In the evaluation, emphasis will be given to the quality of the PhD scientific work and to its relevance within the student's research group, as well as to novel ideas brought up by the candidate.

Applicants must submit their CV, list of publications and internal notes, as well as a report (≤ 5 pages, including figures and references) outlining their achievements within the PhD work. In addition, a proposal/recommendation letter by the thesis supervisor, and reference letters by one or two other professors or researchers not belonging to their institution shall be sent directly to the address given below. All papers and communications must be written in English.

The awarding ceremony will take place at the CHIPP Plenary meeting that will be held jointly with the SPS Annual Meeting in Geneva on 22 – 24 August 2017. The prize amounts to 3'000 CHF. The winner will be asked to give a talk at the CHIPP Plenary meeting presenting his/her current research activity.

More information on the Prize including details about the selection process can be found on the CHIPP web site (http://www.chipp.ch/chipp-prize.html).

Deadline for application: 3 May 2017.

Applications shall be sent by email to:

CHIPP Selection Committee c/o Prof. Adrian Signer (adrian.signer@psi.ch) Paul Scherrer Institute WHGA/134 5232 Villigen PSI

The CHIPP Selection Committee: Adrian Signer (PSI), Aurelio Bay (EPFL), Maurice Bourquin (Uni. of Geneva), and Ralph Eichler (ETHZ)